IES Exam Pattern

IES (Indian Engineering Services) exam is conducted by UPSC on an annual basis. It is one of the most prestigious and top ranked official job. It is also considered as one the toughest exam in India so understanding the IES exam pattern, marking scheme and its structure is the key to success. IES exam is taken for 4 categories namely, Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering.
Mode of Exam:
Pen and Paper Based
Stages of Exam:
Stages Type of Exam Details Total Marks
Preliminary Objective Paper ( MCQ Based) 2 papers 500 Marks (-0.33 negative marking)
Mains Conventional Papers (Essay writing based) 2 papers 600 Marks ( 300 marks each)
Interview Personality Test - 200 Marks
Stage 1: Test Pattern of IES Preliminary Exam
Paper Subjects Duration No. of Questions Marks
Paper 1 General Studies and Engineering Aptitude 2 hours 100 Questions 200 marks
Paper 2 According to category opted out of 4 categories available 3 hours 150 Questions 300 marks
Stage 2: Test Pattern of IES Mains Exam
Paper Subjects Duration Marks
Paper 1 General Studies and Engineering Aptitude 3 hours 300 marks
Paper 2 Civil Engineering/Mechanical Engineering/ Electrical Engineering/ Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering        3 hours 300 marks
Stage 3: Personal Interview
Personality Test/Interview of 200 marks is conducted in order to explore the aspirants overall personality, thinking process, leadership ability, intellectual curiosity and decision making.
Rate Us