IES Exam Pattern

IES (Indian Engineering Services) exam is conducted by UPSC on an annual basis. It is one of the most prestigious and top ranked official job. It is also considered as one the toughest exam in India so understanding the IES exam pattern, marking scheme and its structure is the key to success. IES exam is taken for 4 categories namely, Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Electronics & Telecommunication Engineering.
Mode of Exam:
Pen and Paper Based
Stages of Exam:
StagesType of ExamDetailsTotal Marks
PreliminaryObjective Paper ( MCQ Based)2 papers500 Marks (-0.33 negative marking)
MainsConventional Papers (Essay writing based)2 papers600 Marks ( 300 marks each)
InterviewPersonality Test-200 Marks
Stage 1: Test Pattern of IES Preliminary Exam
PaperSubjectsDurationNo. of QuestionsMarks
Paper 1General Studies and Engineering Aptitude2 hours100 Questions200 marks
Paper 2According to category opted out of 4 categories available3 hours150 Questions300 marks
Stage 2: Test Pattern of IES Mains Exam
Paper 1General Studies and Engineering Aptitude3 hours300 marks
Paper 2Civil Engineering/Mechanical Engineering/ Electrical Engineering/ Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering       3 hours300 marks
Stage 3: Personal Interview
Personality Test/Interview of 200 marks is conducted in order to explore the aspirants overall personality, thinking process, leadership ability, intellectual curiosity and decision making.