IAS Exam Pattern

IAS exam is one of toughest exam in the country which demands a lot of dedication, motivation, planning and hard work. IAS officers are selected from Civil services examination conducted annually by UPSC. IAS exam consists of 3 stages i.e. Prelims, Mains and Interview stage. After which a candidate undergoes the training for various categories.
Exam Pattern:
Preliminary Stage
PapersNo. of QuestionsMaximum Marks
Paper 1100 Questions200 Marks
Paper 280 Questions200 Marks
Mains Stage
PapersNo. of QuestionsMaximum Marks
Qualifying papers
Paper AIndian Language300 Marks
Paper BEnglish Language300 Marks
Merit Papers
Paper 1Essay250 Marks
Paper 2GS 1 (Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the
World and Society)
250 Marks
Paper 3GS 2 (Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and
International relations) )
250 Marks
Paper 4GS 3 (Technology, Economic Development, Bio-diversity,
Environment, Security and Disaster Management)
250 Marks
Paper 5GS 4 (Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude)250 Marks
Optional Subjects
Paper 6Optional 1250 Marks
Paper 7Optional 2250 Marks
Total Marks
1750 Marks
Final Stage: Interview
At Interview stage, a personality test of 275 marks is conducted to judge the decision making, mental stability, leadership skills, critical thinking ability etc. So prepare hard and execute well.
Best Wishes!!